Lok Sabha Election Phase 5: Peaceful and record 63% voting in Rajasthan

    Image source: AFP

    Rajasthan registered 63% voter turnout in 12 constituencies during phase 5 of Lok Sabha election on Monday. The highest turnout of 74.40% was recorded in the Sriganganagar seat, reserved for Scheduled Castes, while 68.14% of voters exercised their franchise in Jaipur.

    The seats which went to polls on Monday were – Sriganganagar, Bikaner, Sikar, Churu, Jhunjhunu, Jaipur, Jaipur Rural, Alwar, Bharatpur, Karauli-Dholpur, Dausa, and Nagaur.

    Chief Electoral Officer Anand Kumar said that the complaints of fault in electronic voting machines and their slow functioning were received from several polling booths. The complaints were immediately attended to and 46 balloting units, 40 control units, and 444 VVPAT machines were replaced.

    Further, Kumar said “The voting was largely peaceful and no repolling was likely to be ordered after a review on Tuesday, just as no repolling was held after the fourth phase voting in 13 of the 25 Lok Sabha seats in the State on April 29.

    In Phase 4, the voter turnout was 68.17% during the polling, while 63.11% of the State’s electorate had cast their votes in the 2014 Lok Sabha election. Mr. Kumar said the lowest voter turnout on Monday was recorded at 55.12% in Karauli-Dholpur. Three election officials died while performing duty in Alwar, Sikar, and Jhunjhunu.

    Rajasthan joins the fair of democracy amid searing heat

    Nearly 2.30 Crore voters in the 12 Lok Sabha constituencies were eligible to exercise their franchise, while 134 candidates, including 16 women, were in the fray. As many as 23,783 polling stations were established in the State to enable the voters to cast their votes.

    Union Ministers- Arjun Ram Meghwal and Rajyavardhan Singh Rathore, former Olympian Krishna Poonia, Dushyan Singh, erstwhile Alwar royal family’s scion Bhanwar Jitendra Singh and Rashtriya Loktantrik Party chief Hanuman Beniwal are among the candidates whose fate will be decided in the polling.



    Deputy Chief Minister Sachin Pilot cast his vote in Jaipur city’s Jalupura area before arriving at the Pradesh Congress Committee headquarters to get feedback on elections from the party workers. The BJP alleged that the Congress candidate from Sikar, Subhash Maharia, had threatened and thrashed a BJP worker in the town.


    Please enter your comment!
    Please enter your name here