Net Neutrality
Net Neutrality

Net Neutrality is the word! The telecom commission has accepted the rules of net neutrality and has accepted the recommendations made by the TRAI (Telecom Regulatory Association of India).

TRAI also suggested Internet Service Providers from entering into agreements which promote discriminatory content. The ISPs are therefore restraining themselves from entering into any agreements with third parties who are viewing discriminatory content.

What is Net Neutrality? 

Net Neutrality refers to no discrimination against Internet content and services. In other words, Internet Service Providers (ISPs) will not block or give any Internet page or content a higher speed access.

Read More: Amit Shah to visit Jaipur; Prominent points expected to be discussed in this visit

As the World is treading towards an open Internet movement, this development is a triumph in ways more than one.

What can we expect from Net Neutrality in India?

Adoption of Net Neutrality in India: Internet Service Providers (ISPs) will now be prohibited from discriminating any content, neither in viewing nor pricing. Simply put, ISP’s like Airtel, Jio, etc. will not be able to charge a high price for viewing any content. It will also not be able to block or throttle any type of content. However, in its recommendations, TRAI kept CDN or content delivery networks out of the purview of Net Neutrality.

The TRAI recommendations emphasized using the Internet for giving free speech to the citizens. It read: “the use of the Internet should be facilitated in such a manner that it advances the free speech rights of citizens, by ensuring plurality and diversity of views, opinions, and ideas.”

On the relevance of Internet of Things (IoT), ) TRAI said: “ IoT should not be specifically excluded from the scope of the restrictions on nondiscriminatory treatment.”

The magic of net neutrality will be loved by one and all in India, because come on, who likes restrictions, anyway? We welcome net neutrality in India with open arms. Do you? Share your opinion in the comments section below!


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here